Determining Child Support in Salt Lake City
Child support is the amount of money the court orders one parent to pay the other parent every month for the support of the child. The Utah legislature has established a formula for figuring out how much child support should be paid in all cases. Child support payments are usually made until children reach the age of 18, or turn 19 if they are still in high school full time, living at home, and can’t support themselves. However, parents may agree to support a child longer. The court may also order that both parents continue to support a disabled adult child that is not self-supporting.
Although child support is based on guidelines set forth in the Utah Family Code, there are many factors that can affect the ultimate amount of support. Understanding the nuances of child support laws can often help either the payor or the payee benefit from child support litigation. We educate our clients in order to make the child and spousal support laws work for them.
Help with Child Support Conflicts in Salt Lake City
Utah child support laws are designed to speed up and streamline the divorce process, but there are usually four issues that get in the way. The first issues arises when parents frustrate or interfere with the other’s parent’s time with their children. This takes place in parental gate keeping matters which can lead to parental alienation. A parent does this to artificially increase his or her own time and therefore increase child support.
The second issue deals with parents who have little interest in spending quality time with their children but still seek parenting time they do not want or cannot handle. Parents often do this to artificially decrease their child support exposure. The third issue is when parents who refuse to become gainfully employed when they have the earning capacity, ability and opportunity. It is important to remember that the obligation to support a child is a mutual one. It does not just fall on the noncustodial parent. Saving the worst for last is when parents who lie about their income, often claiming it is less than what it actually is, to pay less than what Utah child support laws require.
Enforcing Child Support in Utah
When someone stops paying their child support obligation it is a serious offense. By not paying child support the offender is violating a court order and there are serious consequences to a court order violation. Violating any type of court order can lead to a $1,000 fine or up to 30 days in jail for each violation. If your circumstance have changed and you can’t continue to pay your child support obligations than you need to request a modification from the court. If you are owed child support the worst thing you can do is delay filing your contempt action.
Answering Child Support Questions in Salt Lake City, Draper, and South Jordan
If you are in Salt Lake or Utah County we encourage you to contact Garner Law for an initial consultation where you’ll receive general divorce advice.